Flannel

So a few nights ago I played at one of my most favorite venues ever.
wiltern.jpg
It is called The Wiltern. It is in Los Angeles. And it was a mighty good time. I still can’t get over how awesome this tour has been. So much music and history has happened in most of these venues, and I feel honored to be playing on their stages.
Since the last time I blogged we have gone all the way up the west coast from San Diego to Seattle, and now we head east for the first time on the tour. Today I woke up in a somewhat sleepier town than say LA or New Orleans. I am in Spokane, Washington. There is an early fall chill in the air. Trees have begun their color migration from shades of greens to hues of browns, reds, and golds. It is my first time in this town, and I dare say I like it. I’ve found that I enjoy the Northwest corner of our beloved country. I don’t know if it’s the cooler air, the greener trees, the granola, or the higher count of birkenstocks per capita, or the quieter lifestyle. I just kind of like it. So in honor of all the flannel wearing lumberjacks that have trod these grounds before me I am wearing my flannel shirt today.
megaphone.jpg
Yes, and I will shout it from the rooftops.
Actually, this is just a megaphone from the David Crowder set. They do crazy stuff like use megaphones on stage. I hope you can make it out to one of the upcoming dates.
Now I must focus on the job at hand. The good people of Spokane have bought all the tickets for this show, and we must be ready. To soundcheck it is.
Until next time,
-phil

~ by philwickham on October 21, 2007.

37 Responses to “Flannel”

  1. First comment? What??
    Looks like you’re having a blast. I’m praying that God will work through you and everyone on the tour to reach my generation for Him.

  2. you should blog about what an amazing time u had in socal and how you almost missed your show last nite and about your new hair did and new jacketa
    cool

    peace

  3. Hi Phil!!

  4. ahhh πŸ™‚ you look darling.
    eyemishewe

  5. Oh look he’s alive!
    When you say “I hope you can make it out to one of the upcoming dates.”, you should relly add, “unless I hate your city/region and will never go there as long as I live.”

    Nice flannel. You went Clark Kent.

  6. Keep running fast with the eye of faith beholding Eternal Beauty – breaking through the clouds. This might be the very last day we get to love Him by faith. King of Crimson we adore You. May the Name of Perfect Love – Jesus the Christ – be lifted high!

  7. haha I love the flannel! πŸ™‚

  8. haha. oh how i love phil wickham!! ❀
    i cant wait for u to come here :] im pumped
    i have a present for u… im excited, u should be too!! πŸ˜€
    like the flannel shirt also by the way…lol.
    good luck on the tour**

  9. I agree, WA. state is beautiful! But I am biased as I am from Tacoma, WA; Fort Lewis, WA. to be exact! And even though you barely made it last night to The Moore Theatre in Seattle, thankfully, you were there & fabulous & gracious as ever. Hopefully you had time after the show to hit at least one Starbucks before leaving town. Thanks for a great show last night! I’m digging the flannel! I can’t wait to see you Dec. 1 in Bremerton, WA. Don’t forget to work on those V-neck tees for the merch. table. One more thought, since I am posting a comment, maybe I have become a blog stalker….nope, I don’t think so!! just joking!!haha-hehe

  10. Phil, my dude!!
    I have been a fan of your music for several years. I was at the Youth worker’s conference and I was so excited to see you for the first time. I wanted to encourage you and say I loved the show-you did an awesome job! Also, keep preaching Jesus in your music because it is such a blessing to me and too many people are losing sight of that in their music. Keep making Him look great.
    Prayers and blessings πŸ™‚

  11. I’m liking the flannel! I’m so glad you made it to the Moore Saturday night! Your message is so pure and inspiring, and your voice and passion on the guitar are beyond captivating.

    I felt pretty silly at one point though because a few moments after you taught the audience Cannons, you started to sing it again. I looked over to my friend and exclaimed “oh, I know this song!” Umm, yeah… I had completely blanked out that you had just taught it to us. =)

    My friend and I had an awesome time listening to your new album later that night.

    Thanks you and God Bless!

  12. we’re all here. its like the bat-cave or something

  13. Could someone get that boy a flannel v-neck ???

    Thanks for the new blog……I was beginning to think you fell out of the bus somewhere along Interstate 5 !!!! …ahhh, but, no worries…you seem to be just fine…not normal mind you…..just fine!!!!!! πŸ˜‰

  14. Do they make flannel V-necks?

  15. If they don’t make flannel V-necks, they should – in honor of Phil

  16. Definitely.
    I’ll make one, patent it, and make lots of money.
    Then I’ll buy a plane ticket and fly to one of your shows and meet you and then get mad at you for never going down to Sotuh Florida. Then I’d get over it, take a picture, with you and give you one of my nice flannel v-necks with your name on it and everything.

    What a great imagination I have.

  17. phil! I hope your house doesnt burn down in the fires here in san diego! They’re in escondido too! *Praying”

  18. Raquel, you should come to WA. – he’s been her 3 times this year and will be back again in Dec! It sucks that you just can’t seem to persuade him to get to Fl. But I’ll give you one thing, you are persistent!! πŸ™‚

  19. I’m here in Riverside Sara and fires are everywhere. We’re all praying here. Winds are so strong here, my mom even lost her visor in the wind. I wish I could go help put these fires out, but all we can do is pray for now. Hope you’re all ok in Washington Phil, keep us Californions in prayer, oh you’re a Californian too, so keep you’re family in prayer too. I’m not sure if they’re being effected, but it’s always nice when someones praying for you. Anyways, have fun while spreading the word of are divine father in heaven, you’re doing great. Keeping you guys in prayer. *Hug* – Kim

  20. Oh yes. I am certaintly persistent.
    I don’t think he seems to care, though.
    Haha.

  21. Yea Kim I’m in El Cajon and the fires are everywhere just not that close yet..but the winds here are super strong too so they’re moving pretty fast! I hope you guys keep safe over there i’ll definitly be praying!

  22. Oh just wait till your in Illinois. xD

    Phil I finally have Cannons. I bougt it a week and half ago at Best Buy and it was the only copy left! That made me excited, you have lots of fans here Phil. We are sad that the Chicago show is aparentely sold out.

    But anyway I lovvvveeeeeee Cannons especially True Love and well Cannons. ;p

    And I’m keeping everyone in SoCal in my prayers.

  23. Hey guys….sadly there are no flannel v-necks….but, it was my idea first!!!! lol….I think the market would be very limited though….like maybe just Phil !!!

  24. I agree, I love Phil and all, but I don’t think I’m up for a flannel V-neck, even up here in cold and rainy WA.! But it was a good thought to entertain – especially on a Monday! πŸ™‚

  25. Man, I had stopped checking your blog every day and then,just when I was about to give up hope, I checked it again, and lo and behold, a new post! So good to hear everything’s going well though. God bless you.

  26. Thanks Sara for your prayers, I’ll keep you guys in prayer too. Gotta go, my brothers outside and I’m pretty sure the wind can take him off the ground. Just kidding, but he’s going to damage his eyes if he doesn’t get in soon.

  27. haha ok kim..everyone keep SoCal in your prayers! There’s like, 8 fires burning right now…and hope you’re having fun Phil! God Bless!

  28. Hey Phil!
    It sounds like you are having a great time and I am so glad to see you touching so many lives! My dad is a worship leader at our church and this past Sunday we played “Jesus, Lord of Heaven” as part of the worship service. It is such a great song and everyone really enjoyed it. Keep up the good work! : )

  29. Flannel works for everywhere but the northwest in the fall. Too many other people wearing it… Like EVERYONE!!! It was so much easier to pick Phil out with his sleek leather jacket! I never could have shouted “Bye Phil!” from the downed windows of a blue Chevy Tahoe Saturday night otherwise… I never would have recognized him on the street! He has to keep the leather look… Just what’s with the ‘stache?

  30. But of course you would have to adore seattle, as that signifies your first encounter with your future wife, Natalya Parker. Remember the name, dear. And I’m sorry that I mistook your birthday for being in July. You sounded great, by the way. A very different approach from your show at Creation NW. To throw this in, I don’t much dig Spokane either.

    Thank you much for being such an inspiration to myself, what you’re doing right now kind of gives me a vision of what I’m “going after”. I’m a musician too, you see. Well, I’ll catch ya around, see you when I see you.

    Natalya.

  31. Well Phil, the good people of Tulsa have bought all the tickets to your show Friday, and I was sadly not among those ranks. I called too late. I am a little bummed, but I’m sure I’ll be able to see you sometime in the future. It was just the aspect of 3 amazing acts being all together that made it such a remarakable opportunity.

    Anyhow, rock on, amigo. Enjoy your time in Tulsa. I recommend visiting Nordaggio’s on Riverwalk if you get a chance. The coffee is sublime. (We have too many Starbucks in Tulsa, so change it up and get some local flavor!)

    πŸ™‚

  32. I think the mustache is pretty sweet.

  33. Oh my geez.
    I just got my SECOND copy of Cannons which also got autographed.
    But this new autograph includes an adorable smiley face with stars as eyes and a mustache (:
    Phillip, that got you brownie points that compensate in part for you never coming here. Emphasis on IN PART -.-

  34. Hey Phil! I didn’t go to the Flannel concert… but I did go to the concert at the Crystal Ballroom in Portland. It was a blast!!!! You may remember me… I said I was from San Diego. I am not really!!?! Sorry… I was just going crazy at the time!!!

  35. Hi Phil! I really want you to come to Sweden! I know it’s far away, but we are some here who really like your music! I found you at myspace, I don’t know how I found you there, but your music was so amazing. Just a week after that I found you there, I bought two CDs of you. One I gave to my sister. Now I’m trying to teach me all your songs on my guitar. I really think you bring people closer to God with your music and with all that you are. Continue what you are doing!

    Please come to Sweden so my friends can hear you!

    Hugs
    Ester

  36. heey phil my name is hather jernigan and just wanted to say thanks for your music and your really a amazing guy and i went to your concert and it was amazing and i never heard more beutiful music than that music and thank you 4 that speech you gave every-body that must have took alott of guts and that help me out alot because i’ve been having family problems and those songs and your down to earth speech helped me out alot!!!!!!!!!!!THANKS 4 EVERY-THING

  37. thanks for everything your speech and your songs helped me out alottttt!!!!!!!!!thanks

    love
    heather jernigan(your biggest fan)

Leave a Reply

 
