At the HOB with the DCB

Hey Everyone,
A lot has happened in the last 24 hours. My new record was released, and I’ve started up my tour with the wholesome and talented David Crowder Band, otherwise known as the “DCB”. Not to mention doing a CD release show in the studio at KSBJ, a rocking radio station in Houston, TX. Now I find myself in New Orleans, a town with a lot of good food and even more character and history to back it up. It even holds some personal history for me. A good portion of my ancestry once called this bayou their home, and some still do. Yes, it’s a good feeling to rejoin with ones roots. “It’s good to meet you New Orleans. My forefathers have trodden your soil and now I shall do the same.”

The venue is the House of Blues. I am sitting backstage as we speak. The walls are a collision of blues, reds, greens, and yellows spiraling into a collage of what some might call “vibey”. A fan hums overhead. Lighted mirrors hang on the wall. Just outside the door there is a stage upon which the final preparations are taking place. Outside the window there are hundreds waiting in a line on the street below. Yes, it is the first day of the tour and I am excited.
hob-stage.jpg

I made some last minute changes to my set in the green room.
hob-greenroom.jpg

Can’t wait to see you guys at one of the shows.
-phil

~ by philwickham on October 3, 2007.

39 Responses to “At the HOB with the DCB”

  1. Be lifted high King Jesus…drink in the offering of praise and be lifted high!

  2. That is so great! May God’s hand be upon you Phil!
    And I can’t wait to see YOU!!!

  3. Ah Phil – Your Heavenly Father has been absolutely bombarded with prayers and petitions on your behalf. The Lord has placed you on so many hearts. I speak your name before Jehovah tonight. Wisdom, protection, peace, grace, His will over all. Yes Lord. Enjoy your DCB tour moments. They will be gone in the blink of an eye. God’s great love to you – Melody in Missouri
    P.S.
    Looking forward to being blessed by your performance and the power of the Spirit on October 25th in Manhattan, KS. πŸ™‚

  4. Uh hey I’m stealing the bottom picture for my graphics site (:
    I know you hardly ever reply to anyone but can I pleeeease know who took that so I can give ’em credit?

  5. aaahhh… yay!!! ur soo awesome phil and so is ur new cd!!! im sooo glad i got it!! good luck on ur tour… cant wait til u come here!!
    iN CHRiSt,
    Amanda

  6. raquel… seriously… who do you think took that?

  7. See you in Houston, Phil! Your new cd rocks!!

  8. Phil, the new CD is fantastic. My job has me in my car a lot and I got to spend a lot of time with your tunes. Well worth the wair- You’re Beautiful was the background music for a great conversation with the Lord today, and for that I thank you!

    You’re blessed with such great talent and vision and He will multiply your blessings if you continually give them back to Him. Praying for your adventure with the DCB… have fun!

  9. i am everywhere

  10. Phil! first of all, I LOVE THE NEW CD!!! so many songs speak to my heart and draw me more to the Lord. thank you for sharing these songs with us! what a blessing πŸ™‚
    I wish I could say I’ll be seeing you at a show soon, but, alas, none are close enough to my great state of Minnesota. 😦 I’ve been getting in touch with a few people to try to change that in the near future so we’ll see what happens! I hope our paths will cross again soon! until then, take care my friend! πŸ™‚

  11. batman, no you’re not. But God is πŸ™‚ .

  12. Just a few shorts dates and then it’s the performance at the Wiltern!!! I’m so excited! πŸ™‚

    God bless you!

  13. show was the greatest. oh my lord jesus blessed is he.

  14. i fly around with God

  15. batman… im here

  16. praise

  17. hey robin
    shall we sell phils v necks on ebay?

  18. I GOT CANNONS, I GOT CANNONS!!!

    I know I’m a day late, but it’s still exciting.

  19. Hey Batman….uhhh…you seriously need to get a clue !!!!! First of all Batman does not fly….and since he isn’t even real you shouldn’t compare him to God…..and it is more than a little bit obvious that you are pretending to be Robin too…just to make nonsensical conversation.

  20. ha isnt this whole blog a nonsensical conversation?

    oh gotta go robin is calling

  21. Hi Phil~
    I Love HOB and New Orleans!! How exciting that that was your first show. I’m gonna try and make it to your show when your here in San Diego. I got the new CD and I love it!! Beautiful is my favorite song so far, but I haven’t had a lot of time to listen. That one stuck out to me the first time I heard it. So I hope you are doing well and holding up on the tour. I’m sure it is a dream come true for you, but it has to be hard traveling all the time ; ) Your in my prayers as I sit here in the NICU all night taking care of babies!

  22. Batman…do you know what nonsensical means….without using a dictionary?????? And if it’s so bad….why do you bother commenting??? You and “Robin” should check into a mental institute…and fight imaginary crime……also, this is Phil’s blog….even though some of us high jack it once in awhile…but, I am tired of “playing Tennis” with you….so, have a nice day. (uhh…you do know what a metaphor is don’t ya??)

  23. C.R. (batman) – nonsense?

  24. I’m curious, you stated above “It even holds some personal history for me. A good portion of my ancestry once called this bayou their home, and some still do. Yes, it’s a good feeling to rejoin with ones roots. ” French, Native American, Mexican, African American? I must agree, that it does feel good to rejoin with onee roots.
    May God bless you with Divine Protection as well as your voice and overall health and mind during your beautiful time ministering to others. God bless you brother in CHRIST JESUS!
    Philippians 4:4-9 & Proverbs 3!!!

  25. nonsense!

  26. 😦 !

  27. Erica, I totally agree with you! MN calls…

    i love mn.

  28. You’re amazing.

  29. Raquel …
    I think Brody is trying to tell you that he took the picture..
    but I wouldn’t believe someone like that.
    I think Phil probably set the self timer on the camera. πŸ˜‰

  30. awesome πŸ˜€
    good luck at all the concerts πŸ˜€

  31. Ha I actually knew right after I read Brody’s blog which was after I read this one. I should’ve known.
    And yeah I believe him he takes the most amazing pictures.
    So yeah Brody I’m taking that one, too.

    I joined photography club today so yeah I’ll get better (:
    Actually I have some new photogeaphy I need to put up on my photography page on my blog.

  32. leave batman alone!

  33. Haha.. I was being sarcastic. I mean after all the man uses utter cream. Lol.

  34. Yeah I assumed but I mean I can make fun of Brody for some things [like utter cream. Hehe that sounds funny] but his pictures are too amazing to play around with.

  35. Ya…they better be…he has the best camera ever.
    I’m sure talent and creativity play a small part. πŸ™‚

  36. We love you Brody.

  37. Hope your having fun and being blessed on the tour Phil. Your so humble and kind. Your my example, thanks.

  38. Vibey. I like. Tight pics (kudos to Brody, apparently.) I’ll wait to for cannons in the Oklahoma sky Oct. 26 (and hopefully join the remedy club, as well).

    Cool runnings man. πŸ™‚

  39. Brody is my homie for life.

Leave a Reply

 
