I’m in Germany…

So, like I said, I’m in Germany. Kind of random I know, but I’m here nonetheless. I won’t be here very long though. I’m actually on my way to Budapest, which is in Hungary for those who weren’t sure. I had an hour to kill here in the airport before I get on my third and final flight of the day, so I got a tomato, mozzarella, pesto panini (which I am eating right now and it is amazing!), sat here on the floor, and I wanted to say hi to you guys. Hi.
The past 24 hours kind of feels like a dream. Last night I played at this massive outreach that happens every year in Orange County called the Harvest Crusade. It’s this amazing evangelistic ministry that’s held for three night in a row at the Aneheim Stadium. David Crowder and I played for the first night, and a ton of people came out for it, enough to give me a little bit of the butterflies. It was actually kinda surreal cuz I remember going to those crusades every year when I was a kid. Once, during my high school days, my youth group took a couple vans to it, and I remember my youth pastor telling me that I was going to play there one day. I was like, “Psh! Yeah right.” Anyway, I guess he was right after all. So that was last night. Big. Loud. A blur. Now, not even a day later, I find myself in the heart of Europe, sitting on the airport floor, minding my own business, while people from all over the world pass by occasionally glancing in my direction to check out my guitar case.
I’m on my way to Hungary to meet up with a church group that is out there serving and telling people about Jesus. I’ll be playing at some concerts/outreaches that have been put together to set up a platform for the gospel to be preached. I’ve always loved being apart of these kinds of trips. Please keep us in prayer as we bring the gospel of Jesus to many who have never heard it. It seems the enemy works extra hard against these kind of things, and the power of prayer is immeasurable. My flights boarding, and I gotta go:)
Thanks,
-phil

~ by philwickham on August 5, 2007.

110 Responses to “I’m in Germany…”

  1. I will be praying for everybody!!! Be strong phil!
    Blessings!

    *Josh

  2. Hi Phil, saw you on webcast last night. Were those songs from your new CD? Loved them! Very worshipful. Again, thank you for sharing your heart with us! How cool it is to be used all over the world by our King…God be with you and your crew…Praying for you right now!

    Esther

  3. Great job at Harvest. It was awesome!! I will definitly be praying for you!
    GOD BLESS!!

  4. awesome phil… :] have fun… ur amazing. u’re a big inspiration. :] god bless

  5. So you go to Germany but don’t come Miami?
    Phil, what do I have to do to see you in concert?!
    My bejeezus.

  6. Weird, Phil…my dad is leaving for Hungary today (via Germany) to tell people about Jesus with a group from his church…is this a strange coincidence??

  7. Have a great time while serving our King!!!

    Will keep you in prayer, brother!

    BE WITH GOD πŸ™‚

  8. Have an awesome time! Funny how youth group leaders end up right, huh? At least, mine always is.

  9. Hey Phil,
    I was at the Budapest concert, the whole evening was really nice..was encouraging the part u shared about the song, divine romance..only that ur cd was gone so fast!:)aaand on the internet they can’t mail it to Hungary, at least our little country was not in the list of “please select ur country”:))..all right, will arrive here into the stores one day too!:)
    God be with You

  10. hey saw u at harvest! it was so kool to see all those people there. I was bummed that u only sang 3 songs,but at least u got to play!!!hope u have fun in germany! keep u in my prayers!

  11. I definitely know that prayer from others is HUGE on those trips (I’ve experienced this truth many times on overseas trips).
    I’ll be praying for protection and boldness. God Bless!

  12. I’m telling ya Phil Bobblehead dolls!!!

  13. “But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteousness, of your salvation all day long, though I know not its measure. I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign LORD; I will proglaim your righteousness, yours alone. Since my youth, O God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds. Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, O God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your might to all who are to come.” -Psalm 71:14-18

  14. Hey Phil, Im here in Germany!!! Its my home ya know! Wish I could see you play here but youre just passin through arent ya? Well maybe one day you’ll stay. Let me know if you do!!!
    Im praying for your travels!
    God bless you brother!

  15. Phil I love that you are so bold for Christ. Bless you man! I am so psyched that you have a new CD comin out. I can’t wait to get it and listen to it over & over. I will be seeing u in Houston. p.s. Continue to sow seeds of encouraging words into those around you (especailly youth) just like your pastor did. I love u bro.

  16. Germany and now Hungary? That’s pretty cool! I will definately keep you in my prayers. God bless you πŸ™‚

  17. Over the pond, eh? I hope it is/was/will be an incredible time. My roommate and I are planning to catch you and Crowder in Tulsa, Oklahoma in October. We’re counting the days. πŸ˜‰

    Happy trails.

  18. You are already an example, Phil, I pray you continue to press on…may our Daddy remain your strength during the day and song in the night. I pray the Lord will go before you and the rest of the team as you share Him with others…so that they will seek Him and His kingdom first, live a life of surrender, worship Him in Spirit and in Truth, and desire to serve our Lord and King. I Timothy 1:6-7 ==>

    6: Therefore I remind you to stir up the gift of God which is in you through the laying on of my hands.
    7: For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

    May you all shine for HIM and MAY HIS AWESOME BE DONE!!!

  19. HEY PHIL, you were fantastic at Harvest, and i got to meet you! :]]

    You all will definitely be in my prayers. GOD BLESS YOU!!

  20. I hope everything goes good for you. Take care.

  21. I was at the Harvest Crusade when you were there, I was super excited to see you πŸ˜€
    you did WONDERFUL..and I was REALLY able to worship during your music πŸ˜€
    I will pray for your trip and the group you are with πŸ˜€
    you are a GREAT inspiration, and amazing!!

    May God bless you

  22. I’ll be praying for everyone, may all your singing continue to bring Glory to God!
    p.s. I purchased you Cd at Harvest Crusade last night! your lyrics are great, they are very real, honest and i can relate!
    God Bless!

  23. I seen on DCB’s blog that they liked you. I can’t wait to see you both together it is going to be amazing!

  24. I used to be Dan’s Artist Rep at Gibraltar and I was very displeased to see him using DW. Tell him he will be dropped immediately….hahahahahahaha!

    Kidding!

    I only wish I had been there to see ya’ll play…..I’m going to be at one of the H.O.B. shows…..bound and determined, dang it.

    Can’t wait for the new record.

  25. I’ll pray for you!!!! I remember when I took my guitar to Guatemala…people glanced at my guitar case too…especially because I’m a girl–one lady asked all surprised “you play that thing”…I asked myself “why is she surprised? There are many blessed women that can play guitar!” Well have a blessed time!

  26. I’ve also been going to the Harvest Crusade since I was a kid and it was brand new. I was really hoping to go on the 3rd but was stuck in San Diego 😦

    Anyway I think your music is amazing and you are truly blessed.

    I’m excited for the new CD. Good luck and safe travels!

  27. I hope you have lots of fun in germany its a well of knowledge and history, soak it up, it inspired so many amazing songs in me hopefully you’ll be blessed with one as well!! Be safe god bless as always πŸ™‚ Hope to see you soon….
    ~Jessica Ellermets AkA: Jessi

  28. You know I will totally pray for ya man! God Bless you and all that you do for His Kingdom! Love ya brother! In Him~Amanda Jones~

  29. Wow! Youre in Germany! That’s sweet! Have fun!

  30. King Jesus! We glorify Your Name…and give You all honor and praise for the work Your Spirit is doing through available vessels. King Jesus, we praise You for the power and victory that we have in Your blood, and the sufficiency we have in Your Spirit. King Jesus, with a heart of faith…we praise You for the work of salvation that Your Spirit is doing. Father, be blessed as Your children live to bring Your Son’s Name all glory…honor…and praise. We pray and praise these things…in the Name of Jesus Christ – the King of kings!

  31. Hey Phil, I will totally be praying for you. I hope you have fun in Germany and Hungary. I think it’s awesome that you’re going out and preaching the gospel. Your music is such a blessing to so many lives. I pray that God continue to bless you and your ministry.

    love ya,

    ~Paulina

  32. phil
    i wanted to see you play at harvest so bad. o was in cali at vanguarde uni… and was planning on coming to see you i havent seen you in a while like a couple of years just want to let ya know im praying for ya and hope god continues to allow you to minister to this needy world… i hope we could hook up when you come to phx az… i played with you on drums and was just hoping you could drop a line have fun in hungary

  33. so incredible. oddly, i feel very excited for you. i will pray for you and this opportunity. wild the places God takes us, or you at least πŸ™‚ anyway, excited to see you play here fresno next month.

  34. you played an awesome song at harvest…i think it was the second one you played…what’s it called????

  35. cannons

  36. May God’s hand show mercy, grace, and miracles on your trip. As you delight in the Lord, He delights in you! How cool is that, huh!? “How Great Is Our God?”… 8)
    Hope all is well!
    -Heather πŸ™‚

  37. ha, i was just in budapest last week. i missed you by a couple of days. darn it! i’m over the border in romania now visiting family. wish i could be there with you all. i remember the days we used to do that here in romania. i loved it! then i moved to the states and i’m doing ministry there. love it! and i love that you have a heart for that. not surprising. it’s your calling and gifting to touch people in a very special way through your music. looking forward to exciting things in the future.

  38. Oh Phil.
    Hey what happened to you responding to your adoring fans through comments? You don’t do that anymore, I guess because you are too cool for us, aren’t you?

  39. Ack Phil if you’re gonna respond to only one more comment in you life respond to this one! A bunch of sites have been saying that Cannons comes out on October 2nd but you said September 4th!
    Did the release date change?

    Oh and this site you can preorder Cannons autographed!
    Is that true?

  40. Nevermind it’s on your Myspace.
    Why was the date extended?

  41. What?? Cannons release date got extended??? noooooooooo! Is that true, Phil?

  42. Yeah October 2nd. I preordered it already πŸ˜€

  43. YOU CAN PREORDER IT NOW???

    *cough* sorry, alittle excited there…

    Anyway…

    Hey Phil, it’s my turn to be alittle random. I hope you get a chance to read this. I don’t know why, I just felt like I needed to share this. I just wanted to tell you that me, my mom, and my sister have been teaching guitar lessons at our church on Wednesdays, and guess what we chose to be the first to teach to them? Always Forever! We thought it would be a good song to teach because it is quite popular at our church and it’s also a pretty simple song to start out with. We do different chords (G Em D C), but yeah, just wanted to tell you how blessed we are by this song! It’s a awesome song with beautiful lyrics. Our “students” are really getting the hang of it quickly :)!

  44. Yup. Preorder it there:
    http://www.musichristian.com/sys/product.phpPRODUCT=234713
    [autographed + music access pass]

    YOU’RE WELCOME, Phil.
    I’m helping the sales.

  45. ACK the link got messed up.
    http://www.musichristian.com/sys/product.php?PRODUCT=234713

    There you go.

  46. i’ve been praying for you guys :]

  47. Ah! Thanks Raquel! πŸ™‚

    The link for it wasn’t working on Myspace.

  48. Question.

    Is it only today that I can get it autographed? 😐

    Kinda late to be asking that.

  49. Phil,

    There are a lot of comments, so I wont make this long. But, as a sister in Christ, I want you to know that you are loved and in my prayers. Stay blessed, and enjoy your time in Europe… I loved it when I was there!

  50. I was at Harvest, and I had only heard your song “Grace” (I got it free off iTunes like a year ago… and it was amazing) well my family and I work at the Crusade every year and this was the first year in like 5 that I went in to hear some of the worship, and I have to say, I thouroughly enjoyed your songs… I bought your CD that night, and I LOVE it. Your words speak to my heart… but you probably get that a lot. Just know that your ministry is working, God is using you in great ways.
    Bless You!

  51. Nah, I think you can get it as long as the page is up, I guess.
    I mean they wouldn’t have it on thier site today if you could only get it yesterday, I’m guessing, so go get it if you want [:

  52. Das ist ΓΌberwΓ€ltigend!

  53. GOOD NEWS!!!!!

    THE LINK IS WORKING FOR THE PRE-SALE ON PHIL’S MYSPACE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  54. Phil,

    You are FOR SURE in my prayers! Sharing the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ is a powerful thing, especially in a foreign nation. It’s such an honor advancing God’s Holy Kingdom!

  55. Eight days, Phil.

  56. Hey Phil! i love your music! i listen to your cd everyday! i am praying for you while you are in Germany and Budapest! i can’t wait to see you at day 7. i went to the harvest crusade thinking you were going to sing on saturday but i watched on friday from my computer and i still worshipped God! i love you!

  57. Where’d Brody and Shaun disappear to?
    I miss them ….

  58. Ok … I must know this also … did your CD release really get extended? I’m totally gonna cry if it did. But I don’t want to preorder it yet if I do that and it wont come till after it’s already been released. Will we get it by the time it’s released if we preorder?

  59. Let’s start up another conversation.

  60. Hey Phil,
    Actually I just want to ask you where were you in Hungary because I just moved back to Hungary and I’m looking for a good church over here I’m a kinda confused about finding one so it would be a big favor if you tell me!
    Thanks!
    Eszter

  61. Hi Phil,
    Did you like Budapest?What were your impressions of Hungary and the people?
    Anna

  62. C= Phil is MIA (missing in action) AGAIN!
    Brody or Shaun, what do you have to say about that?

  63. hmmmm… Phil. its been almost 10 days. thats a long time. where are you? brody and shaun must be rather bored. :O) but anyways. highly anticipating the release of your new album. cant wait.

    the earth was shaking in the dark
    and all creation felt the father’s broken heart
    tears were filling heavens eyes
    the day that true love died.

  64. hey, phil saw you at the harvest,awesome job. I was hoping to meet you, but didnt’t get the chance. I’ll be seeinh at harvest church in riverside,ca. and in san diego in october can’t wait. Maybe i’ll meet you then. Thanks for your awesome music and helping people connect with our lord. GOD bless, keeping you in my prayers.

  65. what shall the conversation be about this time Brody?
    Your ideas are always about 100 times more interesting then mine …

  66. Hey Guys! I just got home from Europe last night, and the trip was amazing! Thank you so much for your prayers and encouragement. Know that they were heard and answered on a great way. I’ll post a blog later to talk about it in detail.
    Tonight I’m leading worship at Maranatha Chapel (my home church), and I’m so excited to see what the Lord will do in our hearts tonight. God bless you guys!
    love,
    Phil

  67. Awesome Phil! Our God is AWESOME. And praise God for using the little things. May He continue to bless you!

  68. hey HOPE U READ THIS 1! so… i was in kauai and there was a town called koloa.. there was a girl walking down the street and she had a phil wickham T-shirt on!!!!!!!(the gray one) out of all the places i she a fan on vaca! hope u r having fun on yours!

  69. Phil’s been in Germany for TWELVE days now.

    C= He’s being held hostage.

  70. Hey Phil……Here’s a randome Question…..what kind of hair care products do you use????? Do you use Bed Head products or what???? My son has his hair just like yours…well almost…and I am trying to find a really good product to get that fun messy lift thing you have going on….!!!! lol….I am serious though…please let us know…cuz otherwise I am gonna have to buy everything that’s out there to find that perfect look!!!!! Blessings always, Kim B

  71. Hi Phil- Just watched the Wednesday night worship at Maranatha & all I can say is WoW- You were in the zone! I can wait to see you in person in November @ the 9:30 Club in Wash.DC. I hope; let me rephrase that- I’m sure it will be just as awesome! You Rock! Keep up the good work…Sooo excited to hear the new CD as well as to experience the new songs live!

  72. I was at the harvest crusade & you were playing as i got my seats.. i was sooooo excited about getting front row ! I was singing along to aaaall your songs, it was so amazing just knowing you were there.

    I cannot wait to see you at harvest this sunday ! Its going to be awesome seeing you again. God bless<3 -Kimberly Rose

  73. hey u need to get ur times straight 4 when the new cd comes out! on myspace says oct.2 and on ur video it says sept.4Th which is it?

  74. haha that’s so cool that you get to play at this thing you used to attend! wish i hadd been boarding the plane with you so i could chat up a lovely storm with you. but have fun doing your thang!

    and glad you made it back safe to the states! cant wait for your next post =)

  75. ok…so an update on my sons hair !!!!! The “Bed Head Power Gel” seems to give it some great texture after application and blow drying…and then we Flat iron it, then mess it up a bit….then freeze spray it…..not too bad !!! He had the “Closest to Phil Wickham hair” at church today….it makes a mom proud !!!! But, seriously Phil….if you read this, a blog devoted to how you get your hair that way…and how others can achieve it would be greatly appreciated !!!!! AND…..I am very serious….must know, must know !!! Signed, “Desperate mom in Nor Cal.” a.k.a. Kim B.

  76. kirstie

    The video has already been made, which is why it hasn’t been changed… it, you know… can’t be changed…. The date is October 2nd…. NOT September 4th.

  77. Eh that stinks.
    But I preordered it autographed and I’m happy [:

  78. That does really bite. Perhaps I should pre-order it autographed as well so I will be happy.

  79. ….and speaking of things being delayed…I just found out that the t.v. show LOST doesn’t start again until February !!

    WHERE ARE YOU PHIL…?????

  80. That’s probably because they’re having trouble thinking of new episode ideas. I know it’s going to be one of those shows where nothing is resolved and it just ends abruptly, or gets canceled or something dumb like that.

  81. Hi Phil, everybody here has so many nice things to say to you :), i hope this doesnt not get too lost among them haha πŸ™‚ i just wanted to realy thank you.. well, just for taking the time to write your songs…and for writing your blogs.

  82. SEVENTEEN days, dude.
    Are you lost?

  83. Hey! Phil is not lost!!! Did you miss his last post on the 15th?
    We saw him at Harvest Christian Fellowship on Sunday. Wow!
    Such a blessing!

  84. Oh yeah I missed it.
    Oops [:
    Haha, Phil, post a real entry!

  85. You were in Germany?? Awsome, Lucky you, I love Germany. One of my favorite countries. However, when I was there it was not for anything nearly as great as for the reasons that you are traveling through there. Hope you are doing well!! Gott Segnen!!(German for God Bless)

    Lyndsie Johnson

  86. Doin’ my part to reach 100 comments on one post. πŸ™‚

  87. Yay let’s do it!

  88. chirp

    chirp

    chirp

  89. zzzzzzz … I’ve fallen asleep waiting for Phil to post that blog in detail.

  90. i miss phil too, although i have a lot of friends with the artistic iclination and i know they’re not really too good at details, and i can imagine with his schedule phil must be spinnin’. however, phil, we love you and want more of you. that can’t be too bad. so, busy or not, we need an account of your trip. and any other stuff you may want to share. we love you!

  91. oh, yeah, and i totally preordered your cd, am bummed about the delay, and i’m so telling everyone about you, showing them youtube footage and such. when i see a good thing, i want to give it to everyone!

  92. are we at a 100 yet, cause there’s lots of love to share… ok everyone, what is your favorite of phil’s songs. there’s a good topic. i love mystery. i think that one is my favorite at the moment. initially i heard always forever and it captivated me. it was how i learned about phil. caught his song on a friend’s myspace. but i like the vocals on mystery so much! they’re all great. like kids, it’s hard to choose just one. πŸ™‚

  93. My favorite is Grace. First song I ever heard him sing. It was at a church I was visiting in Riverside, Ca. First time I heard of Phil too! Instant fan. Love all of them, I will wait for you there has to be my second.

  94. CRUMBLE TO PIECES.
    And some others are Holy, Holy, Holy,and Fall Into You.
    I’m 94!

  95. I think Phil could sing Row Row Row Your Boat and still captivate us all with his talent & passion. Although I do have to agree with Lyndsie- Grace is the one that does it for me too! I have it set as a ring tone in my phone & use it as my alarm clock each & every day! You can’t help but be in a good mood when Phil is the first thought in your head each day! I also have pre ordered Cannons & I am looking forward to hearing & seeing the new songs live in Nov in Washington DC. Please Phil- Fill us in on what you’ve been up to these days…No pun intended! Be Blessed & see you soon!

  96. My Third Favorite is Mystery

  97. My fourth favorite is Devine Romance

  98. Always Forever has to be tied somewhere between the third and fourth favorite.

  99. Holy, Holy, Holy OF COURSE must have it’s credits. That song too, is very good and has a great message!!!!!

  100. There you are Phil………. 100 comments (tried not to make the last 7 or so nonsense). Your awsome. Keep doin’ what your are doing! You are an insperation to us all! Have a great Day!!!!!

  101. Seems a bit late to be mentioning it but myself and nine dear friends were at the concert in Budapest. We were there to support YWAM Budapeast by leading worship at 1/2 dozen street outreaches. Your concert got us all right in line with why we were there, thank you. We were uplifted, moved, convicted and inspired. Again, thank you.

  102. so this will seem pretty random….however….being a senior education major I found your interactive learning video very inspiring…it adds so much to the song learning process…see ya in tulsa.

  103. Eleven more.
    Ooops. I mean, ten.

  104. my computer is dumb. please excuse the incorrect number above.
    Way to reach 100, everyone. πŸ™‚

  105. I think “Shining” is one of my favorites… it’s from his first album, but then again, all of Phil’s music speaks to me. God bless!

  106. yey, way to reach a 105 everyone. i’m so proud of us! and i know it will just make phil’s day! cause not only is he super talented and gifted, god bless him! but he’s got a great sense of humor too. you are a good man, phil! oh, i’ll be seing you in dallas, i better get my tickets soon. can’t wait! were you working with ywam while in budapest. if there was something big going on, i imagine they had a part. i work with ywam in texas. love it! wishing i had been in budapest. i’m actually just over the border at the moment in romania. connecting with family and fellow ywamers here. you need to come here sometime and do your thing. they would love you here!

  107. 107.
    PHIL.
    DEEEEEEEEEETAILS.
    Go!

  108. hey phil i have been on two trips far away since ur last blog! WE NEED INFO!

  109. WOW, God Bless! I hope all goes well. Take care!

  110. I was on the net looking for guitar chords to “Fall into You” and happened to see this page!! Bless God for the work He is doing in you and through you!! I’ve been doing some studying for a course I am taking at my Bible college and have been taken by this scripture, may it bless you:

    1 Cor. 9:26 Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I buffet my body and make it my slave, lest possibly, after I have preached to others, I myself should be disqualified.

    That last line is very staggering, but may we all be encouraged on this strait and narrow path. What a glorious journey!! We have a good, good God!!

Leave a Reply

 
