On The Road Again

Well, it’s been a few weeks, and there hasn’t been much to write about until recently… except for the small fact that recording is DONE!!! Wooohoo, and I can’t wait for you guys to hear it. Although I do fear that once in a while I get little-league-parent syndrome. You know, like those parents who are so proud of their little kid and love them so much that they will never actually come to grips with the fact that when their child strikes out for the seventh time in a row, or drops yet another pop fly, that maybe they just aren’t good at baseball. Instead they blame the bat, or the mit, or the coach, or the umpire. I wonder if I ever feel that about the songs… about the record. Well, if you listen to the CD, and you quickly realize that I do have that very same syndrome, then I would appreciate it if you wouldn’t tell me. Thankyou. That is all about that.
Other than finishing up recording there hasn’t been much going until quite recently. After we finished I took a little time off to be home in San Diego, and I literally did nothing. Well, not completely nothing but close to nothing, and I loved it. But still the excitement of the road beckoned and I heeded it’s call. Now I’m back out on the road, actually I’m back in the air to be perfectly honest. Today marks the fourth day of traveling/playing, and I just arrived in Austin, Texas to be apart of a worship conference out here. Yesterday, I played in Boston, the day before I was in Detroit, and tomorrow it’s off to Washington. Needless to say it’s been busy. I must say though that I now have another favorite city on my list of favorite cities. I have been to Boston before, but I didn’t have any time on my previous visit to begin to experience what it really is or what it really has to offer to those who take some time to search it’s old and beautiful streets. I don’t know if it was the weather, or the buildings, or the culture, or the food, or all of the above, I just know that the memory of that day, walking through those streets, will stick with me for quite some time. Maybe forever. My only complaint, and this isn’t for all of you Bostonians, is that you need to lighten up a little bit. No offense, but you guys seemed a little uptight, on edge, or something lke that, and maybe you could just take some time to relax, thats all I’m saying.
Anyways, gotta go get a soundcheck now. Until next time,
-phil

~ by philwickham on July 23, 2007.

35 Responses to “On The Road Again”

  1. As a Bostonian, I’ll take your suggestion to heart. I’m glad you enjoyed our city as much as we enjoyed having you here. We college kids were blessed by your show last night. Can’t wait for you + David Crowder in November. Thanks for loving Jesus, it’s encouraging 🙂

  2. FINALLY.
    I was about to lock myself up and force myself to listen to Hannah Montana. Then I saw that’s you’re back.
    Thanks for saving my life.

  3. BY THE WAY.
    You can come to Miami, too, you know.
    You’ve been avoiding it, but there is no reason to do that.
    Except for the extreme heat and humidity but that’s what staying inside is for!

  4. Thank you sooo much Phil for coming through with a blog before the other one hit 100….I can now cancel my Therapy session with myself !!!!! lol. Glad you had a relaxing time at home. And, I don’t think you have to worry about being a “blind parent” to your new Cd…..you are so in tune musically with what blesses the Lord and His people…so, just let go and enjoy the peace from Him. In Christ, Kim

  5. As a former San Diegan and now living in the Northeast, CT to be exact…..I understand what you are saying about lightening up a bit. It’s different out here…..lots of culture and history but it misses that laid back groove that Cali has! Love your music…been blessed by your ministry while at Maranatha and I try to keep up with everything that you are doing. God Bless! Melissa

  6. woohooo! you’re done recording! way to go phil!

    everybody should check out http://www.invisiblechildren.com
    let’s help some people who need us

  7. I am pretty darn sure your next cd will be as amasings as the first. No worries! I believe God has blessed you with such a great talent to bring him praise and provide wonderful music. I thank you for what you are doing.

  8. Phil, congrats on the completion of your album! I’m certain you’ve worked really hard to be where you are now, God honors that. I’ll be looking forward to October once you perform yet again in San Diego 😀

  9. Cool…i am very interest in it…
    you might interest my site too..
    http://www.highvisit.com

  10. Yay! Your done recording! Thats great 🙂

    I was looking around on YouTube and I saw a video of you talking about your new cd at Creation. I got really excited about it when you were explaining how like… the first part of the cd is going to be one way, and then the rest of the cd is going to be another way. I’m sure it’s going to be a great cd. I’m sooooo looking forward to hearing it! I almost want it to be September so bad that I’m forgetting that’s when school starts up again 😦

    Haha 🙂

  11. the bostonians being uptight is not just a boston thing its an east coast vs. west coast thing. (minus the deep south) try nyc they are even more uptight than boston. i’m glad you enjoyed boston! it was good to see you! i’m excited for the album from what i heard at the gma showcases you have reason to be that excited and proud of the album. alright, take care phil!

  12. Sunday night was awesome at Calvary Chapel. I was totally blessed by your heart of worship, and I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t just a concert/performance…it was a time that we all could worship the Lord together. God really spoke to me through your “little” pref to “Divine Romance”…about how he loves us first. Anyway, thanks for doing what you do! See you again in November!
    Emily

  13. Congrats on the completion of recording! I’m sure that takes a load off the shoulders…
    I’m excited for the new worship songs! *dances for joy*
    And as for the fear- it has no base to it, I assure you. Judging, that is, by the three tracks we’ve heard as an audience already (“Cannons,” “After Your Heart,” and the other one in which I forgot its title, which I’m sure subjects me to ridicule *ai yai yai*), your new album is nothing but promising and a delight to many!
    But, to feel the whole experience of anticipating your album being received by the- erm- world, enjoy the suspense!!! ^_^
    Hope all is well!
    Safe Travelling,
    -Heather 🙂

  14. I can’t wait to hear you new Cd.. So excited.. 🙂 I have family in New jersey I even lived there when I was younger and I can understand what your saying.. My family is laid back, but if you go to the city or New York, everyone are always in a hurry to get some where so they can be a little up tight or should I say alot.. So it just depends on where you go and who you know.. One things for sure totally differnet Fron Reno, Nv.. I do reallly miss there food though, so good..:)

    Anyways, Dont be too hard on yourself, I am sure everyone here will love your New CD.. I know I will and will enjoy all the songs, because they are from GOD and thats who we praise with your music.. 🙂

  15. Your CD. Is done. Yay. Wonderful. Excitement. 😀

  16. Ahh Sweet! A New blog and you’re finished with your record!! I am so stoked for September 4th!! I know it will be great … with your voice, heart for God and your way with words/lyrics … how can it not be great!? Plus .. I’ve already heard one of the songs .. and already fell in love with it. No worries Phil … it will be incredible.

  17. Aww Phil, come back to the South. We’ll welcome you back with open arms and big ol’ smiles! =D
    Uh, HELLO! You wrote the songs. I’m talking about Phil Wickham here! How could they not be amazing?!?!

  18. Yay! Phil is back! Can’t wait to buy your CD

  19. oh good, you blogged something. i thought you had died.

  20. I was so excited about going to see you in Boston and then I didn’t get to come.

    I’m really excited about the new album and even more excited for the show with David Crowder Band in November!

  21. This has nothing to do with your “blog thing” but do you ever have something so personal happen to your life that it makes you doubt everything you have ever believed in?

  22. It was great to meet you in Michigan. Thanks for coming to the area!

  23. Hey Phil you should do the Impossible Quiz on Brody’s page!

  24. Hey Phil,

    I heard you wrote a song about Reepicheep. I run a site called http://www.NarniaFans.com and am looking for lyrics that I can post in our Narnia Music section.

    -Paul

  25. Ah, the fast and furious life of Phil Wickham. I trust you’re at least getting 7-8 hours of sleep and taking your vitamins. Oh, and don’t forget to floss. Right.

    I also chuckled at the thought of a West Coast kid like yourself experiencing Boston. I’m a west coaster of sorts (meaning I grew up in a beach town in Western Michigan), and a good friend of mine is from Providence. I love him dearly, but our culture-conflict was a bit intense at times. Especially if I in any way advocated and/or spoke well of the Yankees. Don’t even go there.

    Anyhow, glad to see you’re keeping busy. Hope this finds you well.

    Rachel

  26. Phil, I love your honesty. In your lyrics, in your blog…I appreciate you. Your latest cd is such a worship cd. The more I listen, about 10 times a day, the more reasl the lyrics become to my soul. I love you brother. Thanks for giving to God all that you are. I know you said “It’s not about the music, it’s about the lyrics”, but I love the music too.

  27. I always think of it like this…..the lyrics are what penatrate the soul, they edify, bring about change in a persons life…they also lift up, exalt and glorify the Lord….and the music is the catalyst in which it is delivered. I love the gift of a musician/singer. This is the way they deliver Gods good news. And It is a way that brings pleasure not only to us, But, to Christ Himself!!

  28. Wow, guess he’s back.

  29. FOR NOW.
    5 days….

  30. I will say, Philip, that you can absolutely NEVER have that syndrome. Your music is much too amazing for that. I speak the truth when I say I count down the days until the new album comes out… just 5 and a half weeks… that’s beyond exciting!

    But way to be, Phil, playing in Boston and touring my favorite American city. And yes, they Bostonians must lighten up a little… And they should probably bring back the painted cows. Those were amusing.

    God bless you!

  31. Your music is amazing, Phil. It always will be. It’s your God-given gift. You have absolutely nothing to worry about.

    …Geez, I love your blog. Tell Evan and Sandy to get one too!
    We love the Wickhams!
    Be blessed!

  32. definately can’t wait to hear the new music 🙂

    you are blessed….continue to glorify Him through your music & your life…

    [ ephesians 3:16-19 ]

  33. oh philly, you’re so creative with words haha. not to worry- i’m pretty sure you’ll never get the “little-league-parent syndrome” cuz your music is from your heart! and heart + music = breathtaking!

  34. PHil–I sat next to you on the plane to Atlanta from Boston, while you were reading Harry Potter. I am so pleased to have found your website and to hear your really beautiful voice, lyrics, and guitar. May you have much success!

  35. PHil–I sat next to you on the plane to Atlanta from Boston, while you were reading Harry Potter. I am so pleased to have found your website and to hear your really beautiful voice, lyrics, and guitar. May you have much success! Boston is a great small city.

Leave a Reply

 
