Hot Diggity Dog!

On the outskirts of downtown Nashville, where Lafayette, Ewing, and 6th come to a head, there is a small bit of earth and grass upon which lies a church that is older than my Father, and his Father before him, and even his Father before him. For well over a century the good people of Nashtown have heard the Sunday bells ring as they swing from their perch inside this very church’s high, humble tower. Only the good Lord knows how many faithful hearts have passed in and out of that stone doorway, how many tired knees have knelt upon that hard ground, how many thankful lips have welcomed the elements of communion.
But presently, Wednesday at 1:17 pm to be exact, the gates are closed and it is empty. Today I would like to draw your attention to just around the corner. Nestled up closely to the south end of the grassy lot there is a white house, with a red roof, and aqua windows that is most definitely not empty at the moment. There is a line of people bursting out of the front door who’s eye’s are so focused and jaws so clenched that any on-looker could see that they want whatever is inside that aqua door. See, this house is not just any house, it’s a dog house… a hot dog house, hot DIGGITY dog house, and right now it’s the lunch hour.
hotdigitydog-bldg.jpg
So I jump out of my car and join the hungry ranks. I can’t wait to place my order. I can’t wait to taste that dog. Before I even have a chance to enter I am welcomed with a happy sight. A cowboy hot dog and a cowgirl hot dog with lovely dark hair are having the time of their lives doing some kind of square dance in the sign above. They look happy, they must of had a bite of themselves already.
hotdigitydog-sign.jpg
Though the line was long I got my food fast, and in a few minutes it was gone, and I was satisfied. I was more than satisfied, I was happy. I felt like putting a cowboy hat on as well and doing a little jig myself. I would have for another one of those dogs. Now, I hesitate to describe the actual hot dog to you because I feel I would fail in the attempt. Let me just say that I’m not much of a hot dog lover, but these hot dogs were good, and I’ll leave it at that.
While exiting this high class establishment the owner, manager, mustard sauce applicater, and over all hot dog socialite yelled to me and my band of friends, “TELL YOUR FRIENDS ABOUT US, TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.”
When I heard her say this my mind started to reel. I immediately thought about this blog. I thought about you my readers… my friends. So before I left I grabbed a quick picture with the staff just so I could prove to all of you reading this that the hot diggity dog is hot diggity legit.
hot-diggity-dog2.jpg

Until next time,
your friend,
-phil

P.S. If you’re in a band and looking for a good bass player the one who’s rocking the horn sign says she has a hot Gibson bass and is not afraid to wield it.

P.S.S. I hadn’t realized my V-neck was so deep. I’l remember to button up next time.

~ by philwickham on June 20, 2007.

23 Responses to “Hot Diggity Dog!”

  1. I enjoy reading these, its like opening a book to the Adventures of Phil Wickham. Everything you right seems to be written and described so well that I feel as if I am there.

  2. That sounds hot-diggidy-licious. I’m a little jealous, (of the v-neck, not the dogs.)

  3. Obviously you haven’t had a dog, or you would jealous of both

  4. So this hot-diggity-dog, this white house, is next to a castle? (In the background of first picture). And…the hotdog made you “want to put on a cowboy” and do their little dosie-doe??? πŸ˜€
    Hahaha…Sounds like an adventure! Thanks for bringing us along!

    -Heather πŸ™‚

    P.S.
    The legit staff looks really cool and sweet. I want them to be my friend…*sigh* If only…

  5. phil, this blog is tight, i must say. and on all these blogs i can truly see your personality shine through. which is kinda funny cause now it seems like we are one in the same. my friends think i act (and on a little creepier note) kinda look like you. weird. and i just wanted to say im diggidy diggin the deep V. i have a few of those shirts and the buttons never stay, well buttoned. if you really read these id appreciate a reply! i have tons of questions to ask!
    until then,

    brian.

  6. Hey Heather,
    thanks for the heads up about that “miss print”. I fixed it promptly.
    -phil

  7. haha Nice. That place sounds great.

  8. youre the king of kershawshoknee

  9. Phil,
    You crack me up! I love reading your blogs. You can make even mundane experiences and stories very poetic and entertaining. Thanks!

  10. You are cracking me up!

  11. Haha, oh goodness, I love your descriptive nature. It’s no wonder that such a lyricist as yourself has a wonderful way of writing anything else such as blog entries. Anyway, that place sounds pretty much amazing. I wonder if the combination of these sensational hot dogs and a pro baseball game would come strikingly close to awesomeness. Perhaps? That would mean one must like baseball, because let’s face it, you rave about these hot dogs so automatic love for them is a given, eh?

  12. haha i love u phil…. ur sooo goofy!! i love it

  13. i feel like i just watched an episode of Rachel Ray’s Tasty Travels… Musician Edition with Phil Wickham. haha πŸ™‚

  14. this blog is amazing! i love it! thanks for taking up through a moment in the life of phil wickham.

  15. Oh, how funny….isn’t it interesting how little things can get us so excited sometime!!! πŸ™‚ It’s like when my best pal and I recently went on a road trip to Jacksonville, Oregon from Covina, CA. On our way home, we stopped at the Charles M. Schulz’s Museum in Santa Rosa, CA – You know…Snoopy, Charlie Brown, the Peanuts! Well, while driving through the lovely little town of Santa Rosa, we started seeing statues of Snoopy all over the place, in front of coffee shops, ice-cream shops, banks, restaurants, antique stores, you name it! They were all in different costumes…Sooooo adorable!!!! So we got all excited and stopped at every corner, taking pictures “with” Snoopy! We were the ultimate tourists!!!!!! πŸ™‚ Good thing it was early in the morning and hardly anyone on the streets!!!!!!!

    Anyway, I am glad you found a nice hot dog joint to hang out at! Home away from home?! Did you give them one of your CDs??? Oh, and thanks for being so modest about your shirt! Good boy!

  16. oh phil. you are hot diggity hilarious!

  17. Haha!! Now you are making my diggity hot dog hungery :)) I actually like hot dogs though so I might just LOVE taht diggity dog place. Btw did the people in there you took the pict with know who you were? Did you tell them? Just curious :)) Have a nice night! πŸ˜€

  18. thats awesome. i’ll be sure to check it out next time i’m in nashvegas. my personal favorite nashville establishment is mike’s ice cream fountain. its located on broadway and you must go there sometime because its amazing. plus it will help you cool off from the hot nashville heat.
    see you in a couple weeks in boston!!!! take care!!!

  19. Hiya Phil,
    It’s no trouble at all. I actually got a little chuckle out of it πŸ˜‰ Love the new song! Do you think someday you’ll play out here in the Coachella Valley? Have a happy day!
    -Heather πŸ™‚

  20. Oh my gosh now I want a HOT DOG!
    I already made a goal of moving to Nashville.
    Oh and you didn’t reply to my other comments about my pastor who knew you! [rollo casiple]

  21. hot diggidy! i especially loved the cowgirl dogs lovely brown hair. what a beauty!

  22. Oooh, we have this hot diggity dog place called Mark’s Hot Dogs in San Jo, Cali. And mmm, mmm, mmm, they are so tantalizing, lol! I mean from the crunch in the dog, to the fresh warm buns and the chunky chili, they are just right! Ooh and do not forget the root beer freeze, watch out, heck I might have to go all the way to Mark’s for lunch today, eh! Oh and Phil, you’re being fast with that low V-neck, haha! Queenie

  23. Phil, I got to go to that place today in Nashville. Got real lost trying to get there and kept crossing the Cumberland river and saw all sides of the LP stadium. The hot dogs were good but that place is sooo tiny!

Leave a Reply

 
